What magical “rights” do married couples have, anyway?

Today, Sam Brownback signed an executive order giving a broad-ranging exemption to religious-affiliated organizations that refuse to recognize same sex “marriage.”  Of course, as they do with trying to force Catholic hospitals to provide abortion and contraception “services,” liberals began to insist this is going to deprive people of healthcare.   What if, for example, a gay man was admitted to the only hospital in town, which was Catholic, and his “spouse” came in and wanted to speak as his representative?

Guess what?  Heterosexual couples don’t get stamped, “Spouse”!  We don’t get ID’s that say, “X, Wife of Y.”  Once when I was in the hospital, a nurse was talking about giving me a bath, and suggested my wife could do it, and said, “Wait, you *are* his wife, right?”

When it comes to making major decisions, especially post-HIPAA, that’s what Advanced Directives are for.  Coincidentally, a friend was recently saying on Facebook how, when she designated her medical representative, she was advised to *not* have a spouse or immediate family member, if possible, but a close friend who understood her wishes.  I wouldn’t change my wife as my top decision maker, but when I was at my worst, she was pretty broken up. Thankfully, my desire, as any person’s should be, is to avoid intentional killing of myself, but even so, it speaks to the use of such an extreme, emotive situation as an example, the way liberals like to do, I can provide plenty of extreme, emotive situations to the contrary.

I have a paralyzed vocal cord.  It’s tough to conduct business on the phone.  My wife and I have always tried to conduct business on each other’s behalf, yet it’s always, “I can’t speak to you, even though you’re her husband.  State credit law says I have to speak to her.”   “I can’t speak to you even though you’re his wife because of HIPAA.”

11692794_931927610201597_5039385753849893694_n

What mysterious “benefits” do married couples get, anyway?

Leave a Reply

