“Where are we, Daddy?” “We’re in a metaphor.”

Twice a week, alternating groups of 2 of my 4 kids go to Occupational Therapy. The office is on a fairly major and busy highway, and it’s a quick turn. I briefly confused my landmarks this morning, and I missed it, so I took a right into the next neighborhood. I thought I could take another couple rights and come out behind the office, but it didn’t work out that way, and somehow I ended up further down the highway than I was before, so I took a left at the next light and turned around in a little trailer park, which itself apparently had a one way road, and I was going the wrong way.

When I was turning back onto the main road, one of my daughters asked, “Where are we, Daddy?”

“We’re in a metaphor,” I replied.

The thought had just occurred to me how that exemplifies the metaphorical “wrong turns” we make in life. C. S. Lewis says that being “progressive” implies a goal, and if we find we’re not progressing towards the goal, sometimes being progressive means turning around and going back, even quite far back, to get there.

We know the way to go, whether in our spiritual, professional or family lives, and we know where we’re heading, yet we sometimes lose sight of the goal and get off track. Then, rather than simply stopping and turning around, we feel trapped where we are, or we think we can find an alternate path to the goal, but there is none, so either way we get ourselves further lost and further off course, when we just need to turn around and go back to where we got off track.

We often hear things like, “We’re all in different boats going to the same place,” but that’s not true. There is ultimately only one true path in life, and it is a narrow way–He is a narrow way. “I am the gate,” He tells us. Anyone who tries to hop the fence or bypass the gatekeeper is a thief, He tells us. “I am the Way, the Truth and the Life. No one comes to the Father except by Me.”

Leave a Reply

