Could somebody please explain to me what this “White Privilege” is, and where I can get some?

1. I understand completely that darker-toned people are often discriminated against, in subtle ways. I was told directly once when a police officer pulled me over (rightly, I admitted, I had experienced a perfect storm of circumstances and realized that I was driving way too fast right when he turned his lights on) that he had to prove I was “not an illegal immigrant or an Arab.” He said if I showed up in court with my license, he’d drop the ticket to the first offense minimum, since I was cooperative, which I did and he did. So, yes, I understand that police are sometimes harsher to people of darker skin. *However*, the person immediately before me in Court, who got the same deal I did, was an African American woman.
Meanwhile, there were plenty of white people having to talk to the judge.

2. This article tells me that a Jewish woman never realized she had “white privilege” till some liberal sociology professor browbeat her into it, yet she doesnt explain what it is.

So,

3. I really don’t get it. How do I, as a lower-middle class, disabled, “white” man of predominantly Irish and Slovak (the name means “slave”) descent enjoy more “privilege” than my socioeconomic pers of other so-called “races”? In my experience, the “privileged” whites are more willing to accept the socioeconomic hardship of “minorities” long as they have acceptable political views), and, like “racism,” “privilege” is a term the liberal social engineers have invented to shout down anyone with the “wrong” opinions.”
If I point out the many incidents I’ve experienced where I’ve been clearly been discriminated against because I’m “white,” that just means I’m “racist” or “privileged.” I don’t get it.

I have nothing to lose, so I’ll say it:
I graduated from the South Carolina Honors College in 1997, when I was 20, a year after open heart surgery. I spent my first two years at USC Sumter. I got my Master’s from Valdosta State in 2003. Afterwards, I began applying for jobs in the USC system, particularly in 2006, when I had a few years of part time teaching experience and had been working as an admissions counselor. Then both my non-teaching dream jobs came up in a matter of months. First, two full time academic counseling jobs opened up at the Honors College. They were advertised as “entry level,” and I had more than the required credentials. I applied, did not even get an interview, and when the new bios were posted of the hirees, they were an African American male and a white female. One, IIRC, had a Master’s. At least one had no graduate degree. Neither had any teaching or academic administrative experience–both had worked in retail-type jobs. A few months later, a position opened up as director of advising at USC Sumter. I won over even the most skeptical committee member, a liberal psychology professor who never had me as a student but remembered me. I was all but told I had the job. Perhaps too eager because I had (and wanted) to move to take the job, I checked a couple times, to finally be told that HR at the main campus selected another candidate. When the job was filled and the person was added to the campus website a month or so later, it was the same woman who’d been hired over me at the Honors College.
We moved back to SC a few months later, anyway, and I continued to naively apply for jobs at USC. I applied for well over 40 positions in 2 years, trying to get a full time job, with nary an interview. The last time I bothered, I even threatened to sue them for discrimination against the disabled in my last cover later if I did not at least get an interview. Still nothing. Of course, I couldn’t afford a lawyer to carry through on the threat.

So, tell me, where is my “privilege”?

I’m not angry or bitter–at least not as much as I used to be–I am grateful for God’s providence in leading me where He wants me to be and where is best. If you want to tell me I have “privilege” as an American that I should be grateful for and try to help others with, I believe that, and I do. I know very well I’d be dead if i’d been born in just about any other country in the world, even those the liberals claim have “better” health care than we do.

However, it infuriates me to be told that I enjoy more advantages than my socioeconomic peers of other “races,” when so often the look down on me and my family for not having “nice enough” material possessions, and so often I’ve seen minorities receive advantages for which I was equally or more qualified.

9 responses to “Could somebody please explain to me what this “White Privilege” is, and where I can get some?

  1. I’d love to rate this, but I never got a WordPress Account. So much for white privilege….

    I’d say that the only people who have white privilege in this country, are those who are part of the white aristocracy. A side effect of their own attitudes about motherhood mean that within the next generation they will be an extreme minority, there will be fewer people with white privilege than there will be any other demographic.

  2. This is just my reaction to reading your work. I don’t know you, and in person you may come off quite differently than here where you offer opinions. But if you are trying to get hired for a job, ANY job, the first thing that had better come across is a sense that you would “fit in”, be a team player, a nice person to have around the place, the kind your customers will trust and open up to. That might be why the retail-trained are beating you. In interviews, an experienced “people pleaser” should be used to successfully closing the sale, so to speak. Have you considered the possibility that instead of other hiring preferences like race or gender, these people just gave a better interview than yours?

    • Uh, 1 interview out of 40+ applications? And the people who actually interviewed me wanted to hire me, including someone as ideologically opposite to me as could be?
      I also had retail experience. I had a JCP customer service award, and long after I left my summer job there, managers and coworkers would come up and say how much they wished I was still there.
      As an admissions counselor, I was one of the better performers out of over a hundred on staff, and one of the people management used to gauge others’ performance and model best practices. Almost any interview I actually got, I got the job or came close, but some would say I didn’t or almost didn’t get the job because of “holes,” by which they meant my disability.

      • I’m sure there’s discrimination against those with viewable disabilities, and that could be it too. It works like racial profiling. Nobody admits it, but it obviously occurs. As far as resumes vs interviews goes though, one for 40 submissions fits my own experience. I had a fresh credential for an in-demand profession, and I got three interviews from nearly 150 applications.

      • Fair enough, but again, I’m accepting of my position in life, and merely pointing out that “being white” is not the distinct advantage it’s made out to be. Being “black” or whatever may be a distinct disadvantage, but this is just one of many examples I can give in mine of immediate family members’ experience.

    • Regardless, you make my point. “conservative Christian” = “white privilege.”
      Why don’t have it?
      “nobody wants to be around a conservative Christian.”

  3. For a white guy, 1:40 is pretty strong. I’m running about 1:200 for resumes to interviews the last couple of job searches (plenty of recruiter calls though)

Leave a Reply

