“Lift Up Your Hearts”

Just a thought:
When I was a kid, and the priest would say, “Lift up your hearts,” and everyone said, “We lift them up to the Lord,” so mechanically, it kind of freaked me out a bit.
As I grew older, in addition to understanding the spiritual meaning of it, I also kind of came to appreciate a more literal interpretation.
When I have chest pain at Mass, I lift up my heart.
When I have chest pain at home, I lift up my heart.

One response to ““Lift Up Your Hearts”

  1. When my son was smaller, I used to lift him up at this point in the Mass. Lasted about 6 years.

Leave a Reply

