Discussion: is Jesus a “Saint”?

When I ask questions like this, I usually get responses that are sarcastic, condescending, etc., assuming I’m being rhetorical or sarcastic or that I’m expressing ignorance about basic catechesis.

I’m asking philosophically.

What is a “Saint”?

I was thinking of this in terms of patronage: there are some particular causes for which Jesus (or His Holy Face, Wounds, Sacred Heart, manifestation as an Infant, etc.) is listed as “patron,” which doesn’t make sense to me. Then there’s what we say about Litanies embodying the difference between Jesus and Saints: “have mercy on us” or “hear our prayer” versus “pray for us.” Yet there are traditional devotions, particularly in the East, which address Our Lady by asking her to “Hear us” or “save us”, and we know there are some “prayers” in which saints can directly assist us without having to technically “pray to God for us.”

Then there’s the title of “Saint” itself: the angels, for example, are “saints” in that “saint” means “holy one,” a citizen of Heaven. We usually use “saint” to distinguish humans in Heaven from Angels. Yet Jesus is eternally the God-Man.
So, while it would obviously be redundant to call Him such, I wonder if, in a theological sense, Jesus could be counted as a “Saint”?

3 responses to “Discussion: is Jesus a “Saint”?

  1. Jesus being God does not in any way with hold his human nature from being a Saint. The same as Jesus being a man does not in any way with hold his divine nature from being God. He is both a God and a Saint/Man.

    When a person says a Saint is one who believes in Jesus Christ, they are only telling the second half of the story. Where in Jewish Culture did Saint ever refer to a believer in Jesus? Saints could only believe in the name Jesus, after he was manifested. What Saint of old new the name Jesus? A Saint was a holy person one set apart by God the Father by way of a Covenant with a Sacrifice.

    All who believe in the name Jesus are Saints but not all Saint know the name Jesus! The old covenant Saints only know the Father! Jesus is a Saint because he meets all the qualifications of the fathers definition of Saint! What man recieved word from the Father that the very definition of Saint meant Knowing and believing in the name Jesus! What of the Jew then are they all lost? God Forbid! The have the first covenant!

    Who can say Isaiah, Daniel, or Joseph new the name Jesus and believed on that name?

    Acts 19:2 He said unto them, Have ye received the Holy Ghost since ye believed? And they said unto him, We have not so much as heard whether there be any Holy Ghost.
    3 And he said unto them, Unto what then were ye baptized? And they said, Unto John’s baptism.
    4 Then said Paul, John verily baptized with the baptism of repentance, saying unto the people, that they should believe on him which should come after him, that is, on Christ Jesus.

    How can they believe on a name that they never heard? They are Saints because they are Holy Sanctified with a covenant by sacrifice.

    The whole problem with Christians is thinking that a term like Saint can somehow dethrone God. Calling Jesus a man does not dethrone him. Calling him a priest, lamb, lion, sacrifice, bread, none of these things could possible dethrone or belittle him! He himself choose to become like us Fully Man! Fully Saint!

    The following link has some Scripture to read.
    A case for Saint Jesus
    http://forums.catholic.com/showthread.php?p=12905529

  2. The website previously linked without notification has removed all the posts and supporting scriptures defending Jesus as a Saint. I do not wish to offend anyone but I believe in one being able to present the full truth about what they believe and why. So because none of the material linked on 3 different sites can no longer be found, I would like to post the info here for Discussion. Again the posts are lengthy and not to be offensive but if it can help one soul, so beit.

    This is the first post in response to, Jesus is not a Saint because he is GOD.

    Is Jesus Christ a Saint?

    He isnt a priest because he is god? He isnt a prophet because he is god? He isnt a man because he is god? He isnt a sacrifice because he is god? He never died because he is god? He isnt a saint because he is god? Does this even make since to a believer???

    When God the father looked down from heaven and seen his son laying in the tomb, was he not looking at the greatest of all saints laying in the tomb?
    Psalms 16:3  But to the saints that are in the earth, and to the excellent, in whom is all my delight.
    Revelation 16:6 For they have shed the blood of saints and prophets, and thou hast given them blood to drink; for they are worthy.
    Was not the greatest of all the saints blood shed? By none other than Jesus Christ himself?

    Every prophet of god, of the old testament, were they not a saint? Did not every prophet of God witness of the father? Did not ever saint witness of the father? How can they be saints for Jesus Christ the son if he was not yet revealed to them? They were saints beause they testified of the father! Jesus also a prophet and a saint testified of the father! And in the father is none other than himself, Jesus the Christ.

    1 John 5:8  And there are three that bear witness in earth, the Spirit, and the water, and the blood: and these three agree in one.
    1 Peter 1:19  But with the precious blood of Christ, as of a lamb without blemish and without spot:
    Revelation 7:14  And I said unto him, Sir, thou knowest. And he said to me, These are they which came out of great tribulation, and have washed their robes, and made them white in the blood of the Lamb.
    Revelation 16:6  For they have shed the blood of saints and prophets, and thou hast given them blood to drink; for they are worthy.
    Revelation 18:24  And in her was found the blood of prophets, and of saints, and of all that were slain upon the earth.

    If this is ALL the blood slain upon the earth does this not inlcude the blood of Jesus Christ?

    Matthew 23:30  And say, If we had been in the days of our fathers, we would not have been partakers with them in the blood of the prophets.
    31  Wherefore ye be witnesses unto yourselves, that ye are the children of them which killed the prophets.
    32  Fill ye up then the measure of your fathers.
    33  Ye serpents, ye generation of vipers, how can ye escape the damnation of hell?
    34  ¶Wherefore, behold, I send unto you prophets, and wise men, and scribes: and some of them ye shall kill and crucify; and some of them shall ye scourge in your synagogues, and persecute them from city to city:
    35  That upon you may come all the righteous blood shed upon the earth, from the blood of righteous Abel unto the blood of Zacharias son of Barachias, whom ye slew between the temple and the altar.
    36  Verily I say unto you, All these things shall come upon this generation.
    37  O Jerusalem, Jerusalem, thou that killest the prophets, and stonest them which are sent unto thee, how often would I have gathered thy children together, even as a hen gathereth her chickens under her wings, and ye would not!

    Luke 11:48  Truly ye bear witness that ye allow the deeds of your fathers: for they indeed killed them, and ye build their sepulchres.
    49  Therefore also said the wisdom of God, I will send them prophets and apostles, and some of them they shall slay and persecute:
    50  That the blood of all the prophets, which was shed from the foundation of the world, may be required of this generation;
    51  From the blood of Abel unto the blood of Zacharias, which perished between the altar and the temple: verily I say unto you, It shall be required of this generation.

    Again, Jerusalem is giulty of all the blood of the prohpets which Jesus is a prophet!

    Matthew 23:37  O Jerusalem, Jerusalem, thou that killest the prophets, and stonest them which are sent unto thee, how often would I have gathered thy children together, even as a hen gathereth her chickens under her wings, and ye would not!

    If Jerusalem is responsible for all the blood of the prohpets then who is this next verse talking about?

    Revelation 18:24  And in her was found the blood of prophets, and of saints, and of all that were slain upon the earth.

    Again, Spiritual Jerusalem is giulty of the blood of all the prophets! Then this is none other than Spiritual Jerusalem. Also they are giulty of the blood of the saints. Again, the most important blood was shed by the Prophet and Saint Jesus the Christ.

    Ok why is Jesus a Saint?

    Psalms 50:5  Gather my saints together unto me; those that have made a covenant with me by sacrifice.

    The Father testifies that the son is a Saint! For he made a covenant with the Father by sacrifice! For he sacrificed his on self!

    Ephesians 5:2  And walk in love, as Christ also hath loved us, and hath given himself for us an offering and a sacrifice to God for a sweetsmelling savour.
    Hebrews 7:27  Who needeth not daily, as those high priests, to offer up sacrifice, first for his own sins, and then for the people’s: for this he did once, when he offered up himself.
    Hebrews 9:26  For then must he often have suffered since the foundation of the world: but now once in the end of the world hath he appeared to put away sin by the sacrifice of himself.

    Jesus is the fullfillment of all the things pertaining to God. He is a priest, prophet, saint, man, God, sacrifice, lamb, lion…. But most important of all he is our Saviour! Without Jesus as our saviour nothing else matters.

    This is the second post in response to, Saint is defined as one believing in the name Jesus. And again, Jesus can not be a Saint because he is above being a Saint he is GOD.

    Every passage in the old testament refered to saints as holy ones. No where does it say that anyone in the old testament knew of the name Jesus the Christ. So there is no way that Saint meant, believed in the name of Jesus.

    Matthew 11:.27  All things are delivered unto me of my Father: and no man knoweth the Son, but the Father; neither knoweth any man the Father, save the Son, and he to whomsoever the Son will reveal him.

    Saints of old could not point to christ because he was not yet revealed to them, he was yet to be manifested.

    Colossians 1:26  Even the mystery which hath been hid from ages and from generations, but now is made manifest to his saints: (Only now does a Saint know Jesus)

    How is Jesus manifest to us.

    John 14:21  He that hath my commandments, and keepeth them, he it is that loveth me: and he that loveth me shall be loved of my Father, and I will love him, and will manifest myself to him.
    22  Judas saith unto him, not Iscariot, Lord, how is it that thou wilt manifest thyself unto us, and not unto the world?
    23  Jesus answered and said unto him, If a man love me, he will keep my words: and my Father will love him, and we will come unto him, and make our abode with him.

    Saying a Saint points to Jesus, does not discredit Jesus from being a Saint, for Jesus bear record of himself!

    John 8:14  Jesus answered and said unto them, (Though I bear record of myself,) yet my record is true: for I know whence I came, and whither I go; but ye cannot tell whence I come, and whither I go.
    15  Ye judge after the flesh; I judge no man.
    16  And yet if I judge, my judgment is true: for I am not alone, but I and the Father that sent me.
    17  It is also written in your law, that the testimony of two men is true.
    18  (I am one that bear witness of myself,) (and the Father that sent me beareth witness of me.)
    19  Then said they unto him, Where is thy Father? Jesus answered, Ye neither know me, nor my Father: if ye had known me, ye should have known my Father also.

    Already we have seen what it is to be a Saint. There must be a covenant or testament and there must be blood.
    The Saints of Old were under the first or old covenant and the Saints after Christ are under the New Covenant.

    Psalms 50:5  Gather (my saints) together unto me; (those that have made a covenant with me by sacrifice.)

    Matthew 26:28  For this is my blood of the (new testament), which is shed for many for the (remission of sins.)

    Hebrews 9:14  How much more shall the blood of Christ, who through the eternal Spirit offered himself without spot to God, purge your conscience from dead works to serve the living God?
    15  ¶And for this cause he is the mediator of the new testament, that by means of death, for the redemption of the transgressions that were under the first testament, they which are called might receive the promise of eternal inheritance.
    16  For where a testament is, there must also of necessity be the death of the testator.
    17  For a testament is of force after men are dead: otherwise it is of no strength at all while the testator liveth.
    18  Whereupon neither the first testament was dedicated without blood.

    Hebrews 13:20  Now the God of peace, that brought again from the dead our Lord Jesus, that great shepherd of the sheep, through the blood of the everlasting covenant,
    21  Make you perfect in every good work to do his will, working in you that which is wellpleasing in his sight, through Jesus Christ; to whom be glory for ever and ever. Amen.

    Does Christ meat the Qualifications of a Saint does he make a covenant with the Father by sacrifice?
    What is his covenant? What is the sacrifice?

    The covenant is the remission of sin.

    Romans 11:27  For this is my covenant unto them, when I shall take away their sins.
    Matthew 26:28  For this is my blood of the new testament, which is shed for many for the remission of sins

    The sacrifice is Jesus Christ himself.

    Ephesians 5:2  And walk in love, as Christ also hath loved us, and hath given himself for us an offering and a sacrifice to God for a sweetsmelling savour.
    Hebrews 7:27  Who needeth not daily, as those high priests, to offer up sacrifice, first for his own sins, and then for the people’s: for this he did once, when he offered up himself.
    Hebrews 9:26  For then must he often have suffered since the foundation of the world: but now once in the end of the world hath he appeared to put away sin by the sacrifice of himself.

    This is a sacrifice! Some would defile the sacrifice by saying they took him and killed him, so how can he be a sacrifice? Maybe a martyr but not a sacrifice. To be a sacrifice would mean it was in his own power to sacrifice, to choose to sacrifice not by force.

    John 10:17  Therefore doth my Father love me, because I lay down my life, that I might take it again.
    18  (No man taketh it from me), but (I lay it down of myself). I have power to lay it down, and I have power to take it again. This commandment have I received of my Father.

    Ok now for the final point! For those who say Jesus is not a Saint because he is GOD! He is above a Saint and can not be a saint.

    We see that the Saints are partakers of the inheritance.

    Colossians 1:12  ¶Giving thanks unto the Father, which hath made us meet to be (partakers of the inheritance of the saints) in light:

    Jesus the Son of GOD also is partaker of the inheritance.

    Matthew 21:37  But last of all he sent unto them his son, saying, They will reverence my son.
    38  But when the husbandmen saw the son, they said among themselves, (This is the heir; come, let us kill him, and let us seize on his inheritance).

    Christ Jesus inherits a Kingdom or all things and he inherits a Name.

    Hebrews 1:2  Hath in these last days spoken unto us by his Son, whom he hath appointed (heir of all things), by whom also he made the worlds;
    Hebrews 1:4  ¶Being made so much better than the angels, as he hath (by inheritance obtained a more excellent name) than they.
    5  For unto which of the angels said he at any time, (Thou art my Son), this day have I begotten thee?( And again, I will be to him a Father, and he shall be to me a Son?)

    we have the same reward or inheritance as Jesus the Christ.

    Hebrews 2:11  For both he that sanctifieth and they who are sanctified are all of one: for which cause (he is not ashamed to call them brethren,)
    12  Saying,( I will declare thy name unto my brethren), in the midst of the church will I sing praise unto thee.
    13  And again, I will put my trust in him. And again, Behold I and the children which God hath given me.
    14  ¶Forasmuch then (as the children are partakers of flesh and blood, he also himself likewise took part of the same); that through death he might destroy him that had the power of death, that is, the devil;
    15  And deliver them who through fear of death were all their lifetime subject to bondage.
    16  For verily he took not on him the nature of angels; but (he took on him the seed of Abraham.)
    17  Wherefore in all things (it behoved him to be made like unto his brethren), that he might be a merciful and faithful high priest in things pertaining to God, to make reconciliation for the sins of the people.
    18  For in that he himself hath suffered being tempted, he is able to succour them that are tempted.

    How can Jesus the Son of GOD not be a Saint? He has become and we have become brethren! He was made like unto his brethren! We are Saints! Jesus is a Saint! We have the same covenant, the same sacrifice, the same blood, and the same FATHER!

    Revelation 21:7  He that overcometh shall inherit all things; and I will be his God, and he shall be my son.

    1 John 3:1  ¶Behold, what manner of love the Father hath bestowed upon us, that we should be called the sons of God: therefore the world knoweth us not, because it knew him not.

    Matthew 13:14  And in them is fulfilled the prophecy of Esaias, which saith, By hearing ye shall hear, and shall not understand; and seeing ye shall see, and shall not perceive:
    15  For this people’s heart is waxed gross, and their ears are dull of hearing, and their eyes they have closed; lest at any time they should see with their eyes, and hear with their ears, and should understand with their heart, and should be converted, and I should heal them.
    16  But blessed are your eyes, for they see: and your ears, for they hear.
    17  For verily I say unto you, That many prophets and righteous men have desired to see those things which ye see, and have not seen them; and to hear those things which ye hear, and have not heard them.

    John 8:43  Why do ye not understand my speech? even because ye cannot hear my word.
    44  Ye are of your father the devil, and the lusts of your father ye will do. He was a murderer from the beginning, and abode not in the truth, because there is no truth in him. When he speaketh a lie, he speaketh of his own: for he is a liar, and the father of it.
    45  And because I tell you the truth, ye believe me not.

    I would like to add the following in response to, Jesus can not be a Saint because a Saint is one who believes or points to the name Jesus. And since a Saint is lower than Jesus, a Saint is beneath Jesus, and therfore calling him a Saint would belittle him or downgrade him from God to Saint.

    By the statement, Saint is one who points to Jesus. Then the Father is no less a Saint because he pointed to Jesus!

    John 6:44  No man can come to me, except the Father which hath sent me draw him: and I will raise him up at the last day.

    Matthew 17:5  While he yet spake, behold, a bright cloud overshadowed them: and behold a voice out of the cloud, which said, This is my beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased; hear ye him.

    Again The Father is no less a Saint because he alone could point to Jesus and glorify his name because until the Father glorified his name none could believe on that name.

    John 12:28  Father, glorify thy name. Then came there a voice from heaven, saying, I have both glorified it, and will glorify it again.

    Matthew 11:27  All things are delivered unto me of my Father: and no man knoweth the Son, but the Father; neither knoweth any man the Father, save the Son, and he to whomsoever the Son will reveal him.

    Here Jesus himself point to himself! He reveals his on self! He is no less his own Saint!

    John 6:29  Jesus answered and said unto them, This is the work of God, that ye believe on him whom he hath sent.
    John 7:39  (But this spake he of the Spirit, which they that believe on him should receive: for the Holy Ghost was not yet given; because that Jesus was not yet glorified.)
    John 9:35  ¶Jesus heard that they had cast him out; and when he had found him, he said unto him, Dost thou believe on the Son of God?
    36  He answered and said, Who is he, Lord, that I might believe on him?
    37  And (Jesus said) unto him, (Thou hast both seen him, and it is he that talketh with thee.)
    38 And he said, Lord, I believe. And he worshipped him.

    I have did my best to show that Saint is not just a title or position but its also an Act. The very act of making a covenant by sacrifice makes one a saint. Those who except Jesus as a sacrifice and believe in his covenant are no less Saints! Those who have never heard the name Jesus and have fallen asleep not knowhing the name Jesus but have the first covenant are no less Saints! And they have not been left behind. Also I have shown that the Father, Son and Holy Spirit are no less Saints the King of Saints! They point to each other and bear record of each other and they have each made a covenant with each other and they have each made a sacrifice! Why would a modern use of a holy thing make that holy thing any less holy? The term Saint was used to reference the Holy Ones and anything Holy is acceptable to GOD and in now way belittles or degrades him, for he alone maketh the Holy things Holy!

    • No offense, and thanks for your input. Sorry it took me so long to approve your comments.
      I posed the question for pondering, so thanks for contributing some valuable insights.

Leave a Reply

