Measuring One’s Life in Coffee Spoons: About Spoon Theory

Image
The “Spoon Theory” is an increasingly popular way for people with chronic health problems to explain how we live our lives.  With no apparent reference to T. S. Eliot intended, it was developed by Christine Miserandino of ButYouDon’tLookSick.com to answer the question, posited by her best friend, of what it was like to have Lupus.  Here is the article in which she tells the story.
She was asked by her best friend to explain what it’s like for her to have lupus–a question she found puzzling given that her friend had been with her through the diagnosis, etc.–until she realized her friend meant experientially. So, after a pause for thought, she grabbed every spoon she could reach. She handed the stack of spoons to her friend and said, “You have lupus.”
She then went on to say that the spoons represented the ability to “get things done.” Most people think of themselves as having limitless “spoons,” but people with chronic ailments are keenly aware of their “spoons”: sometimes there may be more; sometimes there may be less, but when the spoons for the day run out, you’re done. Sometimes, you have to “save up” spoons for a big event or in case of illness. Sometimes, a particularly bad day creates a deficit. Then she went on to explain how it’s not just “jump out of bed and get ready for work”: getting out of bed alone is a huge achievement that costs a spoon or two, then getting breakfast, taking medicine, taking a shower, etc.–what we now refer to in my house as ADL’s–Activities of Daily Living–the key goal in my recent stint in Rehab following my surgery on my descending aorta.
Reading Miserando’s account pretty much describes my experience living with Marfan syndrome, except that for me it’s been a lifelong thing. Even many others with Marfan do not have as severe a manifestation as I do: they were diagnosed as adults and have a lot of problems they’ve encountered in adulthood but weren’t severely effected as children the way I was. Then there’s my aortic root replacement in 1996 which temporarily gave the illusion of “health” (it’s amazing how many health care professionals I’ve encountered in the past few months who are confused by the fact that I’ve had *two* surgeries for aortic aneurysms and/or don’t understand what an “aortic root” is). That was quite a difference from my recent surgery, after which, experientially, I really feel a lot *worse* than I did before it.
People say things like, “Glad to know you’re doing better,” and it’s hard to know what to say. Even the first time around, I was technically “doing better” and just aware of the long term risks I’ve since lived through. This time, I’m not only facing the risks to my remaining “natural” aorta, the two grafts themselves, my valves, and my cerebral aneurysms, but on a day to day basis, I feel worse than I did even in the two years between the dissection and the surgery.
How do you explain that to people who are so optimistic after praying so hard?
When people ask, “How are you doing?” I say, “Let’s put it this way: I’m here.”
My left shoulder was dislocated or frozen or something–I have a week and a half till I see an orthopedic surgeon to find out exactly how badly–but it’s hurt me constantly since April, in a degree that no joint has hurt me before. My left rib cage still hasn’t healed; it constantly hurt and is still swollen.
I have no voice beyond a whisper and occasionally sounding like I’m hoarse, due to a paralyzed vocal cord. A temporary injection that was supposed to last 3 months lasted about a month and a half. It gave me enough sound to hold a conversation, but I still couldn’t sing or speak loudly, and my voice used to be one of my biggest assets (I was a teacher; it was literally my livelihood). Every other person I’ve “talked to” who has Marfan syndrome, had vocal cords paralyzed, and had the repair surgery, said it gave minimal benefit at best. The only person whose seen improvement was a fellow who had his surgery a month before I did, is a paraplegic because of it, and had his vocal cord come back “miraculously” without intervention. So I decided against surgery. Even with surgery, I’m never going to be able to sing or engage in public speaking. The main advantage I’d get is the ability to speak on the phone, for which I don’t have enough “spoons,” anyway.
That’s not getting into the tachycardia, the distinct pain that I know is my aorta–both the throbbing in my remaining arch and abdominal aorta, as well as the “stitch pain” around my grafts–I’m 90% sure there will be at least a few millimeters of growth in both the next time I have a CT scan.
I was very grateful to my attending physician and my physical therapist in Rehab. They actually listened to me, and did their own research on Marfan syndrome. My physical therapist told me that what physical therapists use is the “Borg Rating of Perceived Exertion”, a scale from 6-20, where 6 is “No exertion at all,” and 20 is “Maximal exertion.” 10 is “Light,” and that’s where he told me to stop. It’s a subjective scalle that emphasizes the patient’s perception, but it was nice to have a professional telling me what I already knew, versus pushing me past my limits. In fact, the physical and occupational therapists repeatedly told me that it was nice to have a patient they had to tell to *stop*, since I was so eager to get through my exercises (so I could get home to my family). I saw this in some of the other patients, who would sit there and cuss out their therapists over minimal activities while I was tearing through and saying, “What’s next?”
Most of the time, my sessions would get cut short, and I’d be sent back to bed because my vitals were too high–again, they knew as I already knew that a pulse of 100 is too high for a Marfan, but in ICU they couldn’t get it lower than that.
So I exceeded all the goals they set for me in time for my pre-arranged, insurance-mandated discharge date. Then for the first month, I needed extensive help from my wife and kids for my ADLs. I’ve gotten a bit more independent, but I still have a lot less “spoons” than before, and it’s not likely I’ll get them back.
The thing people don’t understand about a condition like mine is that it doesn’t get better. Even ignoring the aorta, there will always be new problems (like my shoulder) to come along. That doesn’t mean I’m pessimistic or “giving up,” but I just face the facts: it’s what I mean by “36 with a life expectancy of 20.” As I noted earlier, “I’m here.”

Leave a Reply

