Coptic Hours–Noon

Agpeya 6th Hour – Sext
INTRODUCTION TO EVERY HOUR
In the name of the Father, and the Son, and the Holy Spirit, one God. Amen. Kyrie eleison. Lord have mercy, Lord have mercy, Lord bless us. Amen. Glory to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit, now and forever and unto the ages of all ages. Amen.
THE LORD’S PRAYER
Make us worthy to pray thankfully: Our Father Who art in heaven; . . . but deliver us from evil, in Christ Jesus our Lord. For Thine is the kingdom, the power and the glory, forever. Amen.
THE PRAYER OF THANKSGIVING
Let us give thanks to the beneficent and merciful God, the Father of our Lord, God and Savior, Jesus Christ, for He has covered us, helped us, guarded us, accepted us unto Him, spared us, supported us, and brought us to this hour. Let us also ask Him, the Lord our God, the Almighty, to guard us in all peace this holy day and all the days of our life. O Master, Lord, God the Almighty, the Father of our Lord, God and Savior, Jesus Christ, we thank You for every condition, concerning every condition, and in every condition, for You have covered us, helped us, guarded us, accepted us unto You, spared us, supported us, and brought us to this hour.
Therefore, we ask and entreat Your goodness, O Lover of mankind, to grant us to complete this holy day, and all the days of our life, in all peace with Your fear. All envy, all temptation, all the work of Satan, the counsel of wicked men, and the rising up of enemies, hidden and manifest, take them away from us, and from all Your people, and from this holy place that is Yours. But those things which are good and profitable do provide for us; for it is You Who have given us the authority to tread on serpents and scorpions, and upon all the power of the enemy.
And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil, by the grace, compassion and love of mankind, of Your Only-Begotten Son, our Lord, God and Savior, Jesus Christ, through Whom the glory, the honor, the dominion, and the adoration are due unto You, with Him, and the Holy Spirit, the Life-Giver, Who is of one essence with You, now and at all times, and unto the ages of all ages. Amen.
PSALM 50
Have mercy on me, O God, according to your merciful love; according to your great compassion, blot out my transgressions. Wash me completely from my iniquity, and cleanse me from my sin. My transgressions, truly I know them; my sin is always before me. Against you, you alone, have I sinned; what is evil in your sight I have done. So you are just in your sentence, without reproach in your judgment. O see, in guilt I was born, a sinner when my mother conceived me. Yes, you delight in sincerity of heart; in secret you teach me wisdom. Cleanse me with hyssop, and I shall be pure; wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow. Let me hear rejoicing and gladness, that the bones you have crushed may exult. Turn away your face from my sins, and blot out all my guilt. Create a pure heart for me, O God; renew a steadfast spirit within me. Do not cast me away from your presence; take not your holy spirit from me. Restore in me the joy of your salvation; sustain in me a willing spirit. I will teach transgressors your ways, that sinners may return to you. Rescue me from bloodshed, O God, God of my salvation, and then my tongue shall ring out your justice. O LORD, open my lips and my mouth shall proclaim your praise. For in sacrifice you take no delight; burnt offering from me would not please you. My sacrifice to God, a broken spirit: a broken and humbled heart, O God, you will not spurn. In your good pleasure, show favor to Sion; rebuild the walls of Jerusalem. Then you will delight in right sacrifice, burnt offerings wholly consumed. Then you will be offered young bulls on your altar. ALLELUIA.
The prayer of the sixth hour of the blessed day, we offer to Christ our King and our God, beseeching Him to forgive us our sins. From the Psalms of our father David the prophet and the king, may his blessings be upon us all. Amen.
PSALM 55 O God, save me by your name; by your power, defend my cause. O God, hear my prayer; give ear to the words of my mouth. For the proud have risen against me, and the ruthless seek my life. They have no regard for God. See, I have God for my help. The LORD sustains my soul. Let evil recoil on my foes. In your faithfulness, bring them to an end. I will sacrifice to you with willing heart, and praise your name, for it is good: for it has rescued me from all distress, and my eyes have gazed upon my foes. ALLELUIA.
PSALM 57 Have mercy on me, God, have mercy, for in you my soul has taken refuge. In the shadow of your wings I take refuge, till the storms of destruction pass by. I call to you, God the Most High, to God who provides for me. May he send from heaven and save me, and put to shame those who assail me. May God send his loving mercy and faithfulness. My soul lies down among lions, who would devour the sons of men. Their teeth are spears and arrows, their tongue a sharpened sword. Be exalted, O God, above the heavens; may your glory shine on earth! They laid down a net for my steps; my soul was bowed down. They dug a pit in my path, but fell in it themselves. My heart is ready, O God; my heart is ready. I will sing, I will sing your praise. Awake, my soul! Awake, lyre and harp! I will awake the dawn. I will praise you, LORD, among the peoples, among the nations sing psalms to you, for your mercy reaches to the heavens, and your truth to the skies. Be exalted, O God, above the heavens; may your glory shine on all the earth! ALLELUIA.
PSALM 61 Listen, O God, to my cry! Attend to my prayer! From the end of the earth I call you; my heart is faint. Set me high upon the rock too high for me to reach, you, my refuge and mighty tower against the foe. Then will I dwell in your tent forever, and hide in the shelter of your wings. For you, O God, have heard my vows; you have given me the heritage of those who fear your name. Day upon day you will add to the king; his years as age upon age. May he ever sit enthroned before God: bid mercy and truth be his protection. So I will sing to your name forever, and day after day fulfill my vows. ALLELUIA.
PSALM 63 O God, you are my God; at dawn I seek you; for you my soul is thirsting. For you my flesh is pining, like a dry, weary land without water. I have come before you in the sanctuary, to behold your strength and your glory. Your loving mercy is better than life; my lips will speak your praise. I will bless you all my life; in your name I will lift up my hands. My soul shall be filled as with a banquet; with joyful lips, my mouth shall praise you. When I remember you upon my bed, I muse on you through the watches of the night. For you have been my strength; in the shadow of your wings I rejoice. My soul clings fast to you; your right hand upholds me. Those who seek to destroy my life shall go down to the depths of the earth. Put to the power of the sword, they shall be left as prey for the jackals. But the king shall rejoice in God; all that swear by him shall exult, for the mouth of liars shall be silenced. ALLELUIA.
PSALM 67 O God, be gracious and bless us and let your face shed its light upon us. So will your ways be known upon earth and all nations learn your salvation. Let the peoples praise you, O God; let all the peoples praise you. Let the nations be glad and shout for joy, with uprightness you rule the peoples; you guide the nations on earth. Let the peoples praise you, O God; let all the peoples praise you. The earth has yielded its fruit for God, our God, has blessed us. May God still give us his blessing that all the ends of the earth may revere him. ALLELUIA.
PSALM 70 O God, come to my assistance; O LORD, make haste to help me! Let there be shame and confusion on those who seek my life. O let them turn back in confusion, who delight in my harm; let them retreat, covered with shame, who jeer at me and mock. O let there be rejoicing and gladness for all who seek you. Let them say forever, “God is great,” who love your saving help. As for me, wretched and poor, hasten to me, O God. You are my rescuer, my help; O LORD, do not delay. ALLELUIA.
PSALM 84 How lovely is your dwelling place, O LORD of hosts. My soul is longing and yearning for the courts of the LORD. My heart and my flesh cry out to the living God. Even the sparrow finds a home, and the swallow a nest for herself in which she sets her young, at your altars, O LORD of hosts, my king and my God. Blessed are they who dwell in your house, forever singing your praise. Blessed the people whose strength is in you, whose heart is set on pilgrim ways. As they go through the Baca Valley, they make it a place of springs; the autumn rain covers it with pools. They walk with ever-growing strength; the God of gods will appear in Sion. O LORD God of hosts, hear my prayer; give ear, O God of Jacob. Turn your eyes, O God, our shield; look on the face of your anointed. One day within your courts is better than a thousand elsewhere. The threshold of the house of God I prefer to the dwellings of the wicked. For the LORD God is a sun, a shield; the LORD will give us his favor and glory. He will not withhold any good to those who walk without blame. O LORD of hosts, how blessed is the man who trusts in you! ALLELUIA.
PSALM 85 O LORD, you have favored your land, and brought back the captives of Jacob. You forgave the guilt of your people, and covered all their sins. You averted all your rage; you turned back the heat of your anger. Bring us back, O God, our savior! Put an end to your grievance against us. Will you be angry with us forever? Will your anger last from age to age? Will you not restore again our life, that your people may rejoice in you? Let us see, O LORD, your mercy, and grant us your salvation. I will hear what the LORD God speaks; he speaks of peace for his people and his faithful, and those who turn their hearts to him. His salvation is near for those who fear him, and his glory will dwell in our land. Merciful love and faithfulness have met; justice and peace have kissed. Faithfulness shall spring from the earth, and justice look down from heaven. Also the LORD will bestow his bounty, and our earth shall yield its increase. Justice will march before him, and guide his steps on the way. ALLELUIA.
PSALM 86 Turn your ear, O LORD, and answer me, for I am poor and needy. Preserve my soul, for I am faithful; save the servant who trusts in you, my God. Have mercy on me, O LORD, for I cry to you all the day long. Gladden the soul of your servant, for I lift up my soul to you, O LORD. O LORD, you are good and forgiving, full of mercy to all who call to you. Give ear, O LORD, to my prayer, and attend to my voice in supplication. In the day of distress, I will call to you, and surely you will answer me. Among the gods there is none like you, O LORD, nor works to compare with yours. All the nations you have made shall come; they will bow down before you, O LORD, and glorify your name, for you are great and do marvelous deeds, you who alone are God. Teach me, O LORD, your way, so that I may walk in your truth, single-hearted to fear your name. I will praise you, LORD my God, with all my heart, and glorify your name forever. Your mercy to me has been great; you have saved me from the depths of the grave. The proud have risen against me, O God; a band of the ruthless seeks my life. To you they pay no heed. But you, O God, are compassionate and gracious, slow to anger, O LORD, abundant in mercy and fidelity; turn and take pity on me. O give your strength to your servant, and save the son of your handmaid. Show me the sign of your favor, that my foes may see to their shame that you, O LORD, give me comfort and help. ALLELUIA.
PSALM 87 Founded by him on the holy mountain, the LORD loves the gates of Sion, more than all the dwellings of Jacob. Of you are told glorious things, you, O city of God! “Rahab and Babylon I will count among those who know me; of Tyre, Philistia, Ethiopia, it is told, ‘There was this one born.’ But of Sion it shall be said, ‘Each one was born in her.’” He, the Most High, established it. In his register of peoples the LORD writes, “Here was this one born.” The singers cry out in chorus, “In you, all find their home.” ALLELUIA.
PSALM 91 He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High, and abides in the shade of the Almighty, says to the LORD, “My refuge, my stronghold, my God in whom I trust!” He will free you from the snare of the fowler, from the destructive plague; he will conceal you with his pinions, and under his wings you will find refuge. His faithfulness is buckler and shield. You will not fear the terror of the night, nor the arrow that flies by day, nor the plague that prowls in the darkness, nor the scourge that lays waste at noon. A thousand may fall at your side, ten thousand fall at your right: you it will never approach. Your eyes have only to look to see how the wicked are repaid. For you, O LORD, are my refuge. You have made the Most High your dwelling. Upon you no evil shall fall, no plague approach your tent. For you has he commanded his angels to keep you in all your ways. They shall bear you upon their hands, lest you strike your foot against a stone. On the lion and the viper you will tread, and trample the young lion and the serpent. Since he clings to me in love, I will free him, protect him, for he knows my name. When he calls on me, I will answer him; I will be with him in distress; I will deliver him, and give him glory. With length of days I will content him; I will show him my saving power. ALLELUIA.
PSALM 93 The LORD is king, with majesty enrobed. The LORD has robed himself with might; he has girded himself with power. The world you made firm, not to be moved; your throne has stood firm from of old. From all eternity, O LORD, you are. The floods have lifted up, O LORD, the floods have lifted up their voice; the floods have lifted up their thunder. Greater than the roar of mighty waters, more glorious than the surgings of the sea, the LORD is glorious on high. Truly your decrees are to be trusted. Holiness is fitting to your house, O LORD, until the end of time. ALLELUIA.
THE HOLY GOSPEL ACCORDING TO ST. MATTHEW (CH. 5 : 1-16)
And seeing the multitudes, He went up on a mountain, and when He was seated, His disciples came to Him. And He opened His mouth, and taught them, saying:
“Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted. Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth. Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be filled. Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy. Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God. Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God. Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. Blessed are you, when they revile you, and persecute you, and say all kinds of evil against you falsely for My sake. Rejoice and be exceedingly glad, for great is your reward in heaven, for so they persecuted the prophets who were before you. You are the salt of the earth; but if the salt loses its flavor, how shall it be seasoned? It is then good for nothing but to be thrown out and trampled underfoot by men. You are the light of the world. A city that is set on a hill cannot be hidden; nor do they light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a lampstand, and it gives light to all who are in the house. Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father Who is in heaven.”
Glory to God forever. Amen.
We worship You O Christ with Your Good Father and the Holy Spirit, for You have come and saved us.
1. O You, Who on the sixth day and in the sixth hour was nailed to the cross, for the sin which our father Adam dared to commit in Paradise, tear the handwriting of our sins, O Christ our God, and save us. I cried to the Lord and He heard me. God hear my prayer, and do not refuse my petition. Be attentive to me and hear me in the evening, in the morning, and at midday. I say my words, and He hears my voice and delivers my soul in peace.
Glory to the Father, and the Son, and the Holy Spirit.
2. O Jesus Christ, our God, who was nailed to the cross in the sixth hour, and killed sin by the tree, and by Your death You made alive the dead man, whom You created with Your own hands, and had died in sin. Put to death our pains by Your healing and life-giving passions, and by the nails with which You were nailed. Rescue our minds from thoughtlessness of the earthly deeds and worldly lusts, to the remembrance of Your heavenly commandments, according to Your compassion.
Now and forever and unto the ages of all ages, Amen.
3. Since we have no favor, nor excuse, nor justification because of our many sins, we, through you, implore to Him who was born of you, O Theotokos, the Virgin, for abundant and acceptable is your intercession with our Savior. O pure mother, do not exclude sinners from your intercession with Him whom you bore, for He is merciful and able to save us, because He suffered for us to deliver us. Let your compassion speedily reach us, for we are exceedingly humbled. Help us, O God, our Savior, for the glory of Your name. O Lord, deliver us and forgive us our sins for the sake of Your holy name.
Now and forever and unto the ages of all ages, Amen.
4. You wrought salvation in the midst of all the earth, O Christ our God, as You stretched Your holy hands on the cross. Therefore, all nations cry out saying, “Glory to You O Lord”.
Glory to the Father, and the Son, and the Holy Spirit.
5. We worship Your incorruptible person, O Good One, asking for the forgiveness of our sins, O Christ our God. For, of Your will, You were pleased to be lifted up onto the cross, to deliver those whom You created from the bondage of the enemy. We cry out unto You and give thanks to You, for You have filled all with joy, O Savior, when You came to help the world. Lord, glory to You.
Now and forever and unto the ages of all ages, Amen.
6. You are she who is full of grace. O Theotokos, the Virgin, we praise you, for, through the cross of your Son, Hades fell down and death was abolished. We were dead but we are raised and became worthy of eternal life, and gained the delight of the first Paradise. Therefore, we thankfully glorify the immortal Christ our God.
Then the worshipper prays: Lord, hear us and have mercy on us and forgive us our sins. Amen. (Lord have mercy) 41 times
HOLY HOLY HOLY
Holy Holy Holy. Lord of hosts. Heaven and earth are full of Your glory and honor. Have mercy on us, O God the Father, the Almighty O Holy Trinity, have mercy on us. O Lord, God of hosts, be with us. For we have no helper in our hardships and tribulations but You. Absolve, forgive, and remit, O God, our transgressions; those which we have committed willingly and those we have committed unwillingly, those which we have committed knowingly and those which we have committed unknowingly, the hidden and manifest, O Lord forgive us, for the sake of Your Holy name which is called upon us. Let it be according to Your mercy, O Lord, and not according to our sins.
Make us worthy to pray thankfully: Our Father Who art in heaven …
ABSOLUTION
We thank You, our King, the Almighty, the Father of our Lord God and Savior Jesus Christ, and glorify You, for You have made the times of the passions of Your Only-Begotten Son, to be times of comfort and prayer. Accept our supplication and abolish the handwriting of our sins that is written against us, just as You tore it in this holy hour, by the cross of Your Only-Begotten Son, Jesus Christ, our Lord and Savior of our souls, this is by which you destroyed all the power of the enemy.
Grant us, O God, a glorious time, a spotless conduct, and a peaceful life, so that we may please Your holy and worshipped name, and that, without falling into condemnation, we may stand before the fearful and just throne of Your Only-Begotten Son Jesus Christ our Lord, and that we, together with all Your saints, glorify You, our Father, who is without beginning, and the Son who is of one essence with You, and the Holy Spirit the Life-Giver, now and forever and unto the ages of all ages. Amen.
THE CONCLUSION OF EVERY HOUR
Have mercy on us, O God, and have mercy on us, who, at all times and in every hour, in heaven and on earth, is worshipped and glorified, Christ our God, the good, the long suffering, the abundant in mercy, and the great in compassion, who loves the righteous and has mercy on the sinners of whom I am chief; who does not wish the death of the sinner but rather that he returns and lives, who calls all to salvation for the promise of the blessings to come.
Lord receive from us our prayers in this hour and in every hour. Ease our life and guide us to fulfill Your commandments. Sanctify our spirits. Cleanse our bodies. Conduct our thoughts. Purify our intentions. Heal our diseases. Forgive our sins. Deliver us from every evil grief and distress of heart. Surround us by Your holy angels, that, by their camp, we may be guarded and guided, and attain the unity of faith, and the knowledge of Your imperceptible and infinite glory. For You are blessed forever. Amen.

Leave a Reply

