And it gets worse every day

Now, the Black One, in his desire to draw his fans away from loyalty to Holy Mother Church, is trying to sow division by undermining the authority of Bishop Mulvey and Fr. Sheehan.  In his latest “Black Sheepdog” blog post, he claims he’s been working closely with Bishop Gracida and Fr. Flanagan, and following their advice.  He appeals to Gracida’s status “retired bishop of Corpus Christi,” implying that he has more authority than the *current* bishop of Corpus Christi, and that Flanagan is the “founder and most respected member” of SOLT, implying that Fr. Sheehan is not respected.  He also threatens to publicize audio recordings of his accuser–again confirming Shea’s hypothesis that Corapi wants to “out” her by dropping clues, so his adoring fans will malign her directly.

A lot of people have been making hay of Bishop Rene Gracida’s sympathetic blog post, saying it endorses Corapi–well, Gracida says he hasn’t spoken to Corapi in a long time, while Corapi says he’s following Gracida’s advice.  I suspect we’ll be seeing some kind of retraction from Gracida when the contradiction gets around.

19 responses to “And it gets worse every day

  1. RECENTLY I PURCHASED THE CATECHISM AND ANOTHER CD OF FR. CORAPI,AND NOW IT SEEMS LIKE MAYBE I SHOULDN’T HAVE…WHEN I WAS BROUGHT UP IN THE CHURCH I HAD A SIMILAR PRIEST NAMED FR. FRANK COLACCICO HE ACTUALLY HAD A VERY SIMILAR ALMOST EXACT SAME HISTORY AND LIFE AS FR. JOHN…AND HIS PREACHING WAS QUITE ALIKE YOU KNOW HARD CORE ALMOST ENOUGH TO SCARE THE WHITS OUT OF YOU…BUT I LIKED IT THAT TEACHING HAS STAYED WITH ME ALL THESE YEARS..NOW I DONT MEAN HE YELLED BUT HE WAS VERY TO THE POINT WITH HIS WORDS TO MAKE SURE WE KNEW THAT THIS IS SERIOUS…OUR LIVES ALWAYS AND WILL FOREVER BE CHALLENGED AND CHALLENGING , BUT ALSO IT HAS TO BE CONSTANT WITH GOD AS OUR CENTER AND I FEEL LIKE I KNOW ALOT OF US HAVE FELT AT TIMES WHEN WE FEEL ABANDONED THAT GOD IS NO LONGER WITH US BUT THE CONTRARY HE IS WITH US ….ITS JUST US NOT BEING FOCUSED ON HIM..AND I FEEL THATS WHAT HAS HAPPENED TO FR. JOHN AND IT HURTS ALL OF US WHO APPRECIATED FR. CORAPIS TEACHINGS ALMOST LIKE OUR “HERO” IS IN TROUBLE AND WE CAN’T SAY ” HEY LOOK OUT FOR THAT TREE!!!” BECAUSE IT’S NOT US IN THIS PICTURE AND LIKE FR. CORAPI SHOWED MANY OF US HOW TO UNDERSTAND THAT KIND OF STRUGGLE WILL BE IN OUR LIVES IT PAINS US TO SEE HIM GOING THRU IT…ALMOST LIKE A BAD MOVIE WE WANT TO CHANGE THE CHANNEL BUT WE CAN’T….I GUESS WHAT I’M SAYING GOOD OR BAD WHATEVER THE OUTCOME IS FR. JOHN CORAPI IS STILL OUR BROTHER IN CHRIST AND A CHILD OF GOD AND NOTHING HE CAN DO WILL CHANGE THAT…CHRIST IS OUR LOVE AND OUR LIFE AS CATHOLICS THE HOLY EUCHARIST ASSURES US OF THAT AND I HOPE AND PRAY FR. CORAPI SEE’S THAT BEFORE IT’S TOO LATE I HONESTLY KNOW THAT WITHOUT THE ONE HOLY AND APOSTALIC CHURCH I WOULD BE LOST FOREVER!!! FR. CORAPI THIS IS ALL OUR LOVE FOR YOU WHICH IS A DROP IN THE OCEAN COMPARED TO THE LOVE GOD OUR FATHER HAS FOR YOU AND ALL OF HIS CHILDREN….REMEMBER THAT AND BELIEVE IN THAT FOR IT IS SAVING TO ALL OUR FEARS, AND OUR SOULS!!! GOD BLESS US ALL AND OUR HOLY CATHOLIC CHURCH!!!

  2. I think your facts are wrong here, John, as I have said elsewhere. And if it what you say were true, it is sinful to publicize it–especially with the obvious demonizing of a good man, as in “the black one” and libelously claiming his desire is to win souls away from the Church, i.e., threaten their salvation. I have NO idea where you may be getting such ideas, but they are, in themselves, demonic.

    • Why is it sinful for John to publish facts? Doesn’t someone need to blow the whistle when someone is distorting the truth while hurting people in the process? Especially if that person has been trusted to be a shepherd? And, if the black sheep dog is not trying to draw people away from loyalty to Holy Mother Church so they will buy his books, why would he be scandalously publicizing his decision to leave the priesthood after 3 months suspension as if it were the only reasonable thing he could do under the circumstances, etc. etc.? That is just a horrible example and he is the one publicizing it as much as he can. He does have other options, like continuing to say the mass every day and living in religious community.

    • I hope you say the same things to Fr. Corapi regarding the things he has said about his accuser.

      His numerous hints and clues have paid off. His fans are now naming someone they assume is her.

  3. Victor, is Alberto Cutie still our brother in Christ? Is Dan Fushek still our brother in Christ? Yes. Should we pray for them? Yes. Should we turn a blind eye to their apostasies? No.

    Terrye, I can say the same. I’m really shocked you’re taking his side against so many good priests, deacons, religious, and lay apologists who have criticized his actions and his statements.

  4. my goodness a bet this is coming from people who have not been ridaculed .. made fun of .. lied on … and not even being able to meet the person that lied on them and the chrurch taking the word of an acuser and not of the acused as for me i will follow this sheep dog after all sheepdogs are loyal loving sweet and gaurds his sheep against the wolfs while the shepards just leads the sheep and sleeps and eats and counts the sheep and runs when the wolf comes around grawling for fear of getting bitten

    • Debra, ME?? I’ve been ridiculed and mocked my entire life. When I was in First Communion, the “good Catholic school kids” mocked me for my posture and my near-sightedness *and for being the only one who’d actually learned my lessons*. My parents complained to the nun who was school principal, and she said, “If they knew him [i.e., I didn’t go to public school], they wouldn’t make fun of him.” My dad said, “If they’re going to Catholic school, they should be taught not to make fun of anyone.” A priest once told my parents that I didn’t have the “posture” to lector or cantor because of my bad back and bad heart. I had to go from SC to PA to get Anointing of the Sick when I was having open heart surgery at 19 because my pastor at the time had a policy of never visiting the sick.
      And, as I’ve said in almost everything I’ve written on this topic, I stand behind the many holy priests who have been falsely accused and yet remain in obedience to the Church and the priesthood. I have written many times on this blog of my support for Fr. James Haley and Fr. Christopher Buckner, both of whom are being persecuted by Bishop Paul Loverde. I have applied the same analytical skills in their cases that I have applied to Fr. Corapi’s case and determined that I believe they are innocent, and there’s plenty of reason to believe the bishop is persecuting them, both on his track record with other priests and statements he has made that contradict publicly available legal documents.
      In this case, both because of the contrast between Fr. Corapi’s statements and Fr. Sheehan’s, and because of Fr. Corapi’s own actions, I’ve taken the opposite position. And prior to Friday, I was a very strong supporter of Fr. Corapi.
      Again, I’m being accused of detraction and calumny for analyzing Fr. Corapi’s statements and actions. You’re making judgements of me based upon . . . what?

  5. Brothers and Sisters in Christ… stop this divisions! Evil is thriving in these… tis better to, at this point before it gets worse, to perhaps just pray, pray and pray and ask Our Blessed Mother and the saints to intercede for us or we will just sink lower and it will be hard to rise. Pax!

  6. observant viewer

    undermining the authority of Bishop Mulvey and Fr. Sheehan.

    Impossible to “undermine” authority that has been mis-used or not properly used according to Canon Law as Bishop Gracida outlined for us. But then facts of law when abused are themselves conveniently dismissed by the careless and those lacking in empathy. It’s not nice to doubly abuse priests via the power that controls them. Such a lack of adherence to Canon Law, if occurring in a civil court, would cause the case to be dismissed.

    Hey, if a Bishop is supposed to be willing to suffer martyrdom, a case of questioning his actions according to Canon Law ought not cause him a case of the vapors. Easy … just admit the sloppiness at the expense of the priest in question and correct your mistakes.

    • 1) The “Dallas Charter” has nothing to do with Corapi’s case. SOLT and the Diocese of Corpus Christi have both said that. His suspension had to do with SOLT policies and canon law regarding members of religious congregations.
      2) Notice how you and your allies are buying into Corapi’s claim that he’s resorting to civil law because canon law won’t help him. I was raised to believe that you don’t sue the Church in civil courts or you get excommunicated. That’s not entirely true, but it is conventional wisdom. In any case, Canon Law is *superior* to civil law, and Corapi’s whole position is that the Church is just another organization subject to the laws of the Godless state.
      3) Their authority has not been abused or misused. They were in rights to suspend him. It is done all the time, in the Church and in secular situations, where someone is *being investigated*. Corapi started this whole thing by advertising his suspension. In any case, even if they unjustly suspended him, they were still within their authority to do so, and a “good and holy priest” would have bowed his head and taken up his cross. Corapi’s followers say, “He’s a good and holy priest”–even that he’s the *only* good and holy priest–then if you say, “A good and holy priest wouldn’t have countersued or rebelled against his Superior and his bishop,” they say, “Well, he’s not a saint.” I’m sick of the double talk.
      Read St. Faustina.

  7. Sheesh. Fr. Corapi hasn’t apostatized nor has he renounced the priesthood! Fr. C still says to support the Bishops on matters of doctrine! Get your facts straight! Brood of Vipers! Accusers!

  8. And it gets worse every day………………?

    Wow, your post says more about you than it does about…John…

    Good luck with that.

    • And what would that be, Michael or James?
      That I honor Canon Law, and the authority of legitimate authorities in the Church over the ravings of a man who has thrown the priesthood away?
      Let’s use the analogy Creative Minority Report did. What would we say of a man who was falsely accused of spousal abuse or child abuse and had his kids taken away by DSS pending investigation? What would we say of such a man if he said, “There’s no way to prove my innocence in these allegations, so I am divorcing my wife, relinquishing custody of my children, and suing my wife for defamation of character”?

  9. I am not “taking his side.” I hope I am on the side of justice. I have no idea whether Fr. Corapi is guilty of anything. What I resist is the temptation to judge him, especially when accompanied by falsehoods, innuendo, and ignorance of the relevant facts. This is especially reprehensible when critics use their celebrity to spread misinformation.

  10. And, yes, I sent a similar message to Fr. Corapi, urging him to reconsider his course.

    There is NOTHING wrong with reporting FACTS. Sadly, many have reported as fact their opinions, rumors, suspicions, and conjecture. THAT is sinful.

    • Terrye, this man is not worth our longstanding friendship. I’m baffled why you’re taking the stance you are; you’re baffled why I’m taking the stance I am. In any case, I believe with every fiber of my being that what Corapi is doing is very dangerous for himself and his “fans”, and it has been proven by the things his fans have been saying throughout the blogosphere this past few days, and some of the things said in this combox. Maybe you haven’t read all the comments I have. I don’t know. All I know is I’m offering commentary on known facts and public statements. I’m pointing out where he has contradicted himself, where his actions do not conform to canon law or to the spiritual advice of the saints, or whatever. I don’t see why you think I’ve done what you think I’ve done. But I really have no desire to argue this with you.

      • The other day, I deleted a very popular post on my blog, “Fr. Corapi’s Accuser is a Nut.” In that post, I analyzed the news as it had come out that point, based upon my own reasoning and understanding of human nature, just as I have done the past few days.
        I rarely delete old posts, even if I later recant them, because I want to be that honest. But people were continuing to read that post and comment favorably on it, and I didn’t feel it was right to mislead people.
        Point is: none of the people accusing me of calumny or detraction against Fr. Corapi said I was guilty of calumny or detraction against his accuser! And at the time I left the door open to the fact that she could both be “nuts” *and* telling the truth.

Leave a Reply

