Marfan Syndrome and the Passion

There was a time in my life I thought it would be cool to have stigmata.  Now, I’ve got a constant ring of pain around my head, two small scars under my ribs on either side (plus the big one down the middle), stria that look like whip marks.  Tiny scars in the centers of my hands from IVs, and the occasional pain in my hands and feet from the cold. 

When I was a kid, and I heard “Lift up your hearts” at Mass, I thought it sounded gross.  Now, obviously, I understand the metaphor, but back in my teenaged years, I started taking a somewhat literal approach to it.  “Here, Lord, is my heart.  It’s no good to me.  You can have it back.  Your Sacred Heart was pierced by a lance, and my heart feels every day like it’s being pierced over and over.  So I lift it up to you.  Combine my sufferings with Yours.”

One response to “Marfan Syndrome and the Passion

  1. Theodore Seeber

    An interesting play you, your wife, and children need to read soon:
    http://www.samuelfrench.com/store/product_info.php/products_id/8494

    In it, the character of Khim, one of the four main characters in this play, is a Cambodian who survived the Killing Fields. The character now teaches biology to American high school students. He makes the interesting point, or maybe claim, that Americans don’t understand, can’t understand extinction. Our lives are too comfortable; death too far away.

    Max, another character in the play, learns between his biologist father, his teacher Khim, and his mother to appreciate extinction.

    I’m thinking about putting it on, using members of my Knights roundtable for the parts.

    Tempus Fugit, Memento Mori was once a well known thought in America, it is no longer. Your Marfan Syndrome has given you a rare perspective that most Americans want to avoid.

Leave a Reply

