Daily Archives: March 6, 2009

Gee! Pius XII saved Jews–big surprise!

Vatican Radio has announced the publication of a 1943 letter, documenting 23 Jews who were hidden in a Roman convent per the orders of Pius XII.

"Do unto others as you would have done unto you" or "I’m mad as heck, and I’m not gonna take it any more!"

Today’s EWTN homily from Fr. Frank Pavone was fantastic. Preaching on Jesus’ adaptation of the Golden Rule–“Do unto others as you would have done unto you”, and on the Book of Esther, Father Pavone talked about how we need to have the courage to stand up for what is right in society, in spite of our fears. We need to trust God’s Providence to look out for us, as Esther did.

When challenged with a difficult decision, we ask, “What will happen to me if I do this?” But, as Mordecai reminded Esther, we need to ask, “What will happen to the other person if I *don’t* act?” Better yet, “What will happen to *me* if I don’t act?”

He said people often ask him how he does what he does every day. He said, “My ministry is actually rather simple. All Ihave to do is say ‘Don’t kill babies.’ . . . But, you wanna know why I do this? I get mad!”

He talked about the classic Billy Wilder film _Network_–which does to TV what _Sunset Boulevard_ did to movies 25 years earlier, and says that, like the anchor in the movie told people to do, we need to stick our heads out the window and yell, “I’m mad as [expletive deleted], and I’m not gonna take it anymore!”

He said, “When we go to speak about the evil of abortion in politics, they tell us it’s a religious issue. When we go to speak about it in Church, they tell us it’s a political issue. When we speak about it in business, they say it’s too costly. When we speak of it in schools, they tell us it’s too upsetting. If abortion is so wrong, where can we go to say it’s wrong? We go to all those places!