Lenten spirituality tip: Offering it up

It should be kindergarten level spirituality, but we all bear reminding now and then to offer *everything* up.  I’ve been making an extra effort the past day or so to do it, and it has been rather amazing, at least for my own piece of mind.  Every time something comes up that’s worrisome, or I think of someone (at all, for any reason), I try to say a quick prayer for that person or intention: a simple “St. [Insert patron here], pray for us,” or “Jesus, I trust in You!”  will do.  I find “O Mary, conceived without sin, pray for us who have recourse to Thee!” and “O Blood and Water, which gushed forth from the Heart of Jesus as a Fount of Mercy for us, I trust in You!”  to be particularly effective.
Of course, there are always the Pater, the Ave, the Creed, the St. Michael Prayer or the Guardian Angel Prayer, but the simple “one liners” are both more practical for praying about *everything*, and also better about helping us to surrender.  lvfatima

One response to “Lenten spirituality tip: Offering it up

  1. Theodore Seeber

    I need to do that with the secular attacks on marriage and the womb. In fact, I’ll start today.

Leave a Reply

